“I Like That You are Crazy Not With Me…”

 

“I Like That You are Crazy Not With Me…”

1915

I like that you are crazy not with me,

I like that I’m not with you crazy, either,

That ne’er the heavy planet’s globe will be

Drifting away under our feet, quite easy.

I like that one might funny be and brave,

And free-behaved – and not to play words, rather,

And not to blush with choking a wave,

At easy touching just a sleeve another’s.

 

I thank you with my hand and all my heart

For loving me (that you don’t even know!),

For the sweet peace, I own in the night,

For the scarce meeting in the eve’s fast flow,

For our not-walking under the moonlight,

For our not-standing under the sun’s glow –

That not with me – alas – you lose your mind,

That not with you – alas – I lose my own.

 

 

Marina Tsvetaeva

 

Leave a Reply

